About Don Winn’s Cardboard Box Adventures

Banner_115h_04Cardboard Box Adventures Books (CBA Books) is an independent publishing company dedicated to providing quality books for kids. Our award winning books testify to the appeal of our stories and characters, but our books are designed especially to captivate the struggling or at-risk reader.

CBA Books is named after the fun, imagination, and endless possibilities that kids can always find when playing with something as simple as a big cardboard box.  Our books spark young imaginations in the same way. This blog is written to inspire parents and teachers with practical information on a variety of topics as they work together to help their children and students grow.

Our current catalog includes ten picture books and two chapter books for middle readers. CBA books are available in soft cover, hard cover, and eBook formats from Amazon, Barnes and Noble, the iTunes bookstore, and several other eBook stores.
Interested in occasional updates about CBA? Sign up for our newsletter.

Cardboard Box AdventuresAbout Don Winn
Don M. Winn is the founder of Cardboard Box Adventures Books, the award-winning principal author on staff, and the main contributor to the CBA blog. He currently lives in Round Rock, Texas. As a Dyslexic reader and writer, Don works tirelessly to encourage young struggling readers to embrace the love of stories. Visit his website at www.donwinn.com.

About the Picture Books
All CBA picture books are designed for parents/teachers to read aloud with children. Each book has a theme that parents can use to illustrate a common life lesson. All the stories have questions for discussion so parents can start conversations about important topics. The hardcover books also have additional questions at the end that can be used to help kids to use their imaginations and “think outside the book.” Cardboard Box Adventures picture books by Don M. Winn have been named among the best in family-friendly media, products and services by the Mom’s Choice Awards®.

picture book selection covers montage MCAAbout the Chapter BooksKnighting of Sir Kaye Winner IRDA MB MCA
The Knighting of Sir Kaye by Don M. Winn is the first book in an exciting new series of chapter books for independent readers. These books follow the adventures of 12-year-old-knight Kaye Balfour during the middle ages in the fictional country of Knox. Read a sneak peek of this award-winning kids’ book!

Awards and Honors
The Knighting of Sir Kaye has won the following awards and honors:
Winner, 2013 IRDA
Winner, 2013 Moonbeam Children’s Book Award, Silver
Winner, 2013 Royal Dragonfly Book Award, First Prize
Winner, 2013 UK Wishing Shelf Book Award, Silver
Mom’s Choice Awards® Gold Recipient

02 Kaye cover smallThe adventure continues with book two in the Sir Kaye series, The Lost Castle Treasure.  The treasure house of Knox castle is empty! Now conspiracy and war threaten the kingdom while mysterious noises and unexplained events fill the castle. As best friends Kaye, Reggie, and Beau search for the missing treasure, jealous knights plot to get rid of Kaye for good. Can Kaye find the treasure in time to save the kingdom? Or will he risk losing his knighthood forever?  Join Kaye, Reggie, and Beau as they search for hidden clues, secret passages, a lost castle treasure, and their place in the world in this fast-paced adventure.  Now available!

Awards and Honors
The Lost Castle Treasure has won the following awards and honors:
Mom’s Choice Award Gold
2013 Wishing Shelf Award Finalist
Readers’ Favorite Award Finalist
Foreword Reviews IndieFab Book of the Year Finalist

03 Kaye cover small

Legend of the Forest Beast is the third book in the Sir Kaye series. Legend of the Forest Beast is the third book in the Sir Kaye series. The beloved tutor Alchir has vanished! And a dangerous criminal with a grudge against Alchir has just escaped from prison. Kaye is determined to find the tutor and earn a fine reputation as a knight. The search leads Kaye, Reggie, and Beau to a sinister manor house at the edge of a dark forest where nearby villagers live in terror of a deadly monster. As they investigate the mystery of the forest beast, they uncover a terrible plot that could destroy Knox. When there’s no one to turn to for help, can they save the kingdom—and their lives—by themselves?

Awards and Honors
Legend of the Forest Beast has won the following awards and honors:

K4 cover art about Sir KayeAvailable in June, 2017

The Eldridge Conspiracy is the fourth and final book in the Sir Kaye series. Kaye enters Eldridge alone to seek the only man who can tell him how to save his father’s life.
Waiting for Book Four? Sign up for Don Winn’s Newsletter.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s