dyslexia

Dyslexia 101: What Every Parent, Teacher and Dyslexic Needs to Know

Dyslexic Girl wideDyslexia has been a part of my life from birth, although it wasn’t noticeable until I started school. For most of my life I was bemused and perplexed by my dyslexia, as were my teachers. I didn’t understand why I struggled with so many different things, not just reading, but writing, numbers, sequencing, and more. I felt ashamed and had very unrealistic expectations of what I could and could not do.

This internal conflict stayed with me for most of my adult life and even when I succeeded or excelled in certain endeavors, it seemed more of a fluke. I never really felt like success was deserved. Little did I know that my story, filled with inner conflict and struggle, was not unique to me and that I share it with literally hundreds of thousands of other people with dyslexia.

Dyslexia definition extra smallMy perception and understanding of dyslexia, and in turn, of myself, took a dramatic leap forward a few years back when I discovered the Rawson Saunders school in my area that caters specifically to dyslexic students. The school was hosting a special screening of The Big Picture: Rethinking Dyslexia and I was invited. My world shifted profoundly as I recognized myself in the experiences of others for the very first time. Thus began my personal journey to understanding of what dyslexia is and is not. Since then I have written many articles about dyslexia and have done numerous presentations for parents and educators about the condition. For Dyslexia Awareness month I offer a concise shortlist of  dyslexia articles I’ve written.

For anyone reading this blog, I would like to hear about your journey, either with dyslexia or in working with someone with dyslexia

9780881441888-ColorSS.inddAlso check out my dyslexia-inspired picture book, The Higgledy-Piggledy Pigeon. It’s the story of a carrier pigeon named Hank who starts flight school full of hope, but soon learns he has a terrible sense of direction due to dyslexia. Hank’s caring teacher patiently encourages him and helps him learn to compensate for his learning difference and this has a tremendous impact on his life.

View The Higgledy-Piggledy Pigeon video.

the higgledy piggledy pigeon preview

2 thoughts on “Dyslexia 101: What Every Parent, Teacher and Dyslexic Needs to Know”

  1. My 8 year old son had recently had the official diagnosis of dyslexia. I always knew something was different and not quite right but didn’t know about dyslexia! I’m really enjoying reading ur blogs etc as they will help me as a parent to help my son and get the best out of him. I also work in a primary school as a teaching assistant so the knowledge will help me to help other children too.

    1. Hi Lisa. Thanks so much for your feedback. It’s always good to hear that soemthing one has written is making a difference for others. I wish the best for you and your son on this journey together, and am grateful that you got him the diagnostic workup needed to determine his status and needs. Arming ourselves with the facts makes for a much less bumpy ride in this road. Please keep in touch and let me know if I may be of help.
      All the best,
      Don

Leave a Reply

